Election of the 693rd Lord Mayor of the City of London

The Election of the 693rd Lord Mayor of the City of London went ahead in person on Wednesday 29 September Michaelmas Day.

Sheriff Alison Gowman, Lord Mayor William Russell, Lord Mayor-elect Alderman Vincent Keaveny, and Sheriff Nicholas Lyons outside Guildhall.

Sadly the traditional Church Service beforehand at St Lawrence Jewry was abandoned due to scaffolding obstructions, however the Reverend Canon David Parrott said a prayer before proceedings began.

After an extended period without a full turn-out, Liverymen were finally able to meet at Guildhall to elect Alderman Vincent Keaveny to be the next Lord Mayor. The Great Hall was full to capacity and attendees over-spilled into the Old Library and the Livery Hall to watch the proceedings.

The Lord Mayor-elect Alderman Vincent Keaveny emerged triumphant as the Court of Aldermen’s selection accompanied by the Lord Mayor to enthusiastic applause. The Lord Mayor-elect gave his acceptance speech to Common Hall.

Following the election presided over by Lord Mayor William Russell, a vote of thanks was moved for his two years of service proposed by the Master Haberdasher Daniel Hochberg, seconded and unanimously adopted. The Lord Mayor responded with a message of thanks for all those who have supported his extended term in office.

There was then a resolution of thanks moved for the late Sheriffs Alderman Prof. Michael Mainelli and Christopher Hayward CC proposed by the Master World Trader Sue Algeo and seconded by the Master Pattenmaker Jennifer Bryant-Pearson. The late Sheriffs responded with an amusing take on the muted world of videoconferencing and a ‘Two Ronnies’ sketch.

Skip to content